Congratulations to the following physicians who’ve received awards, highlighting the great work doctors are doing in their communities.

If you’ve recently received an award, please let us know by emailing

Rural & Remote Division of Family Practice doctors awards

Dr Lauri-Ann Shearer - a widely respected physician, leader, friend, and ally who has been dedicated to improving health care in Bella Bella for almost 19 years - received the Award of Excellence in Rural Medicine: Lifetime Achievement.

Dr Francois Bosman (Gabriola Island) and Dr John Soles (Clearwater) were recognized for going "Above and Beyond" in caring for their rural patients and communities.

Dr Tracey Thorne, board co-chair, received the BC Achievement Community Award.

Dr Danielle Pichie (New Hazelton) received the Rural Community Impact Award.

Fraser Northwest Division of Family Practice doctors awards

Dr Joelle Bradley, hospitalist at Royal Columbian Hospital, was recognized as Hospitalist Colleague of the Year 2022.

Dr Amber Jarvie, long-term care physician at Eagle Ridge Manor and medical director at Foyer Maillard Care Centre, received Quality Improvement Champion 2021.

Dr Angela Hutchinson, family physician at High Roads Medical, was named Family Doctor of the Year 2021.