March 15, 2022

The following changes are taking place in the physician membership of the GPSC.

  • Physician co-chair Dr Anthon Meyer is resigning for health reasons. He will transition out of the role by April 29, 2022.

    In accepting Dr Meyer’s resignation, Doctors of BC board chair Dr Adam Thompson thanked him for his “deep passion for primary care, boundless energy, outstanding facilitation skills, and deep intellect….We will continue to benefit from the results of his work for years to come.” Doctors of BC will send out a Call for Nominations to members soon to begin the process of filling the position.

  • Dr Mitchell Fagan, currently serving as vice-chair, will step in as GPSC co-chair on an interim basis until the Doctors of BC Board of Directors decides on a permanent appointment. He will start his new role on April 29, 2022.

  • Dr Baldev Sanghera has been appointed to the GPSC by the Doctors of BC Board of Directors as a BC Family Doctors representative. Dr Sanghera provides longitudinal patient care at a multicultural, full-scope community-based family practice in Burnaby. He is filling the position held by Dr Lee McKay who will be wrapping up his time with GPSC on April 29, 2022.